Facebook offers a great -- and free -- way to connect with friends and family, but if you are not careful about your security settings, your site activity can be published for anyone to view. Comments you leave on other posts, for example, are displayed and made available for liking and commenting by other users as well. With user blocking enabled, you can unfriend specific users and hide your comments from their view plus prohibit the user from communicating directly with you on Facebook. Other privacy settings allow you adjust the overall audience of your posts and shared items.
Block a User
Click the "Privacy Shortcuts" icon, resembling a padlock with three horizontal lines, at the top right of any Facebook page. Select "How do I stop someone from bothering me?"
Enter the name or email address of the individual you wish to block and click "Block."
Select the person you want to block from the list of users that dislays. Confirm your request to block by clicking "Block [User Name]."
Individual Post Privacy Settings
Click the "Friends" drop-down next to the "Post" button on any new post -- for example, a new status update or a shared link.
Select the audience for your post. See Tips for information about audience selection.
Click "Post" to make the post live.
Past and Future Post Privacy Settings
Select the gear icon at the top right of any Facebook page and select "Privacy Settings" from the drop-down menu.
Click "Edit" next to "Who can see your future posts?" and adjust the audience for all future posts. Additionally, you can limit previous posts by selecting the "Limit Past Posts" link, clicking "Limit Old Posts" and then "Confirm." See Tips for information about selecting an audience.
Click "Close" to save your privacy setting changes.
- The other user will not be notified when you block him.
- If you are unable to find a user by searching in the "Privacy Shortcuts," navigate to the user’s timeline, select the gear icon to the left of his name and choose "Report/Block This Person" from the drop-down menu. If you are still unable to locate the user's page, he may no longer use Facebook or have restricted his privacy settings.
- When you select "Limit Old Posts," any content you have shared with "Friends of Friends" or "Public" will be changed to a "Friends" audience.
- A post with a "Public" audience will be visible to anyone on the Internet. A "Friends of Friends" audience includes your friends as well as the friends of your friends. This option is also the maximum audience option available to minors posting on Facebook. A "Friends" audience displays posts only to your Facebook friends -- and will expand to include additional non-friend users who are also tagged within the post. A post with an "Only Me" audience is visible only to you -- though it will expand to include additional users who are also tagged within the post. A "Custom" audience can be configured to include or block specific users.
- Facebook: What Is Blocking? What Happens When I Block Someone?
- Facebook: How Do I Block Someone?
- Facebook: When I Share Something, How Do I Choose Who Can See It?
- Facebook: Basic Privacy Settings & Tools
- Facebook: How Do I Choose Who Can See Previous Posts on My Timeline?
- Facebook: What Audiences Can I Choose from When I Share?
- Justin Sullivan/Getty Images News/Getty Images