You can essentially reimage your iPad by resetting the tablet to the factory image and removing all content and settings from the device. When you prepare the iPad for resale or donation, you can perform a complete reset to delete all media and personal information from the iPad from the Reset menu in the device settings. Alternatively, you can also remove all accounts, settings and personal information from the device without deleting all files, using the same menu.

Step 1

Tap the “Settings” icon in the iPad home screen to launch the Settings app.

Step 2

Tap the “General” option, then tap “Reset” to open the Reset menu.

Step 3

Tap “Erase All Content and Settings” to delete all files and remove all of your accounts and data. The pass code prompt opens. Type your pass code to continue. A warning screen displays.

Step 4

Tap “Reset” to revert the tablet back to original factory settings.

Warnings

  • Information provided in this article applies to iPads running iOS 7. Instructions may vary slightly or significantly for other versions of iOS.

Tips

  • You can delete all settings without removing your media and files by tapping the “Reset All Settings” option in the Reset menu.

  • In addition to resetting your device settings, you can also reset your network settings, location settings and keyboard dictionary from the Reset menu.