When you associate a device with your Apple ID, you authorize it to download your purchased apps, music and other content. Your account can have up to 10 different devices associated with it, including computers as well as mobile devices. These associations are usually done automatically when you first set up your hardware or install iTunes. ITunes has controls for managing your registered devices, if you need to replace one that you're no longer using. Before proceeding, make sure you are running the latest version of iTunes.

Step 1

Launch iTunes, click "iTunes Store," and then select "Account" from the Store's front page. If the menu bar is visible, you can choose "Store," and then click "View Account" instead.

Step 2

Log in with your Apple ID, and then click "View Account."

Step 3

Click "Manage Devices" under the "iTunes in the Cloud" heading.

Step 4

Select "Remove" next to the device you want to erase. After the device disappears, click "Done" to return to the previous screen.

Warnings

  • Information in this article applies to iTunes 11. It may vary slightly or significantly for other versions.

Tips

  • One reason to remove a device from your iTunes account is to associate it with a different Apple ID. You must wait 90 days after the association is first made before you can connect a device or computer with a new ID. Removing a device from your account doesn't affect this timer. You can see how much longer you have to wait before a new association is made from the Manage Devices page in iTunes.

  • If you are selling or giving your device to someone else, Apple also recommends that you wipe the device: tap "Settings | General | Reset | Erase All Content and Settings." If you no longer have access to the device, you can perform the same actions through the Find my iPhone tool in Apple's iCloud Web interface.