Division 1 Colleges in South Carolina

High-raise photography of library.jpg

The state of South Carolina offers eight public colleges that are members of Division I of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). These Division 1 colleges in South Carolina range from large institutions like the University of South Carolina and Clemson University to smaller schools like South Carolina State University and Winthrop University.

1 University of South Carolina

The University of South Carolina features eight different campuses throughout the state, with the main campus located in Columbia. Students at the Columbia campus can choose from more than 350 degree programs. The University of South Carolina has an annual student enrollment of almost 28,000 at the Columbia campus and a total statewide enrollment of more than 41,000. The school fields a total of 17 men's and women's teams in 12 different sports on the Division I level. The school competes in the Southeastern Conference (SEC).

University of South Carolina 1500 Pendleton St. Columbia, SC 29208 803-777-0169 sc.edu

2 Clemson University

Clemson University has an enrollment of more than 18,000 undergraduate and graduate students each year. The College of Engineering and Science comprises most of Clemson's student body, with more than 4,500 students enrolled in that program. The College of Business and Behavioral Sciences has the second-highest number of students, with almost 4,400 annually. Clemson University fields a total of 17 men's and women's athletic teams in 12 sports. The school competes on the Division I level as a member of the Southeastern Conference (SEC).

Clemson University Clemson, SC 29634 864-656-3311 clemson.edu

3 South Carolina State University

South Carolina State University is a Historically Black College or University (HBCU) that has an annual enrollment of approximately 5,000 students. The school, which has a main campus in Orangeburg and a satellite campus in Elloree, offers undergraduate and graduate degrees in 14 different departments. These departments include education, business, science, engineering, English and math. South Carolina State University fields a total of 16 men's and women's athletic teams in 12 sports. The school participates on the Division I level in the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference.

South Carolina State University 300 College Street NE Orangeburg SC 29117 803-536-7000 scsu.edu

Jeff Dickinson has been writing professionally for 19 years. He began covering sports for The Huntsville Times in Alabama and moved to Atlanta in 1997. Dickinson worked in corporate communications for seven years before beginning his freelance career in 2005. He covers football for the Marietta Daily Journal and FANatic Sports and writes for a variety of websites.