When you want to get rid of everything on your iPad, the easiest method is to perform a factory reset that reinstalls the latest version of iOS and returns the tablet to its factory condition. All of your songs, videos, phone numbers, passwords and other personal information are deleted during a factory reset. You can perform the reset from the iPad screen itself, or you can do it through iTunes.

From the iPad Screen

Step 1

Connect your iPad to a Wi-Fi network. You can also complete this procedure using a mobile connection, but the process takes longer and you may incur data charges as Apple reinstalls a fresh copy of the operating system.

Step 2

Tap "Settings" from your iPad's home screen.

Step 3

Tap "General," then select "Reset."

Step 4

Select "Erase All Content and Settings," and then tap "Erase iPad" to delete everything from the tablet. After several minutes or longer, the setup screen appears, allowing you to reconfigure the iPad as if it were new.

When you want to get rid of everything on your iPad, the easiest method is to perform a factory reset that reinstalls the latest version of iOS and returns the tablet to its factory condition. All of your songs, videos, phone numbers, passwords and other personal information are deleted during a factory reset. You can perform the reset from the iPad screen itself, or you can do it through iTunes.

From iTunes

Step 1

Attach your iPad to your computer with a USB cable.

Step 2

Select the tab for your iPad from the iTunes toolbar, then select the "Summary" tab.

Step 3

Click the "Restore iPad" button, and then click "Restore" to confirm. After several minutes or longer, the setup screen appears on the iPad, allowing you to reconfigure the tablet as if it were new.

Warnings

  • Information in this article applies to iOS 7 and iTunes 11, and can be used for the iPad, iPhone or iPod Touch. It may vary slightly or significantly with other versions.

Tips

  • If you previously enabled the Activation Lock security feature on the iPad, you must enter the password for the Apple ID associated with the tablet after you reset it; otherwise, Apple will lock you out of the device.

  • Select the "Set Up as New iPad" option when you reconfigure the iPad to avoid restoring the old content back onto the tablet.