Do You Lose Everything You Have Done If You Reset an iPad to Factory Settings?
Resetting an iPad to factory settings means just that: your iPad will end up just as it was when it first left the factory. All of your apps, music, movies and other types of content will be removed through a reset (known as a restore in Apple's official language). If you do choose to restore an iPad, however, you'll be prompted to make a backup first.
1 Restoring and Backups
Opt to run your iPad through the restore process via iTunes and you'll be prompted to make a backup over iCloud or through iTunes itself. This backup covers all of your key settings, apps and content. As a result, while a restore does wipe everything except the latest version of iOS off your iPad, you can quickly get it back to the state it was in before you started the process.
2 Safety First
Although iTunes and iCloud can be used to back up your iPad, always err on the side of caution. Make sure you have all of your important documents, files, music tracks, movies, apps and podcasts available somewhere else (typically in iTunes) so they can be copied back. Any apps, movies or television shows you've purchased from iTunes, for example, can be redownloaded to your iPad again once you've signed in with your Apple ID.