What Are EOG Scores?

EOG scores are important to North Carolina students.

North Carolina students in grades 3 through 8, including those attending charter schools, are required to take End-of-Grade (EOG) standardized tests to evaluate their progress in three core subjects. Each student receives an EOG score that demonstrates how well they’re performing.

1 About EOG

The EOG exams test students in reading, mathematics and science. The number of correct answers by each student provides a raw score that is converted into a developmental scale score.

2 Features

EOG scores are ranked on a scale of one to four achievement levels, with the fourth achievement level being the highest. The exact number needed to reach each achievement level varies, depending on the subject.

3 Significance

Students in grades 3, 5, and 8 must post an EOG score at achievement level three in order to advance to the next grade.

4 Benefits

EOG scores help the North Carolina Board of Education gather information to monitor each individual student’s performance and the effectiveness of the entire school system.

5 Considerations

A Duke University study found that exposure to lead early in childhood lowered EOG reading scores in minority and low-income children.

6 History

The EOG statewide assessment program began in 1996.

William Lynch has been a freelance writer for the past fifteen years, working for various web sites and publications. He is currently enrolled in a Master of Arts program in writing popular fiction at Seton Hill University. He hopes to one day become a mystery novelist.