Removing unwanted names from your Chat sidebar in Facebook makes it easier to see who's online and select your favorite chat buddies. By default, Facebook inserts several names at the top of your Chat bar based on how recently and frequently you interacted with those friends, even if they're not currently online. You can remove a name by turning off chat for that friend. The person can still send you instant messages, but they go to your inbox instead of your chat window. As an alternative to removing names, you can turn off chat for everyone except the friends you choose.

Remove Names From Bar

Step 1

Click the gear icon on the Chat sidebar and select "Advanced Settings."

Step 2

Select the radio button next to "Turn On Chat For All Friends Except."

Step 3

Click inside the entry field and enter the name of a friend you want to exclude from the bar. Repeat for any other names you want to remove. You can also enter the name of a friends list such as "Acquaintances" or "Close Friends" to remove everyone on the list.

Step 4

Click "Save." Facebook removes the names from the Chat bar. If you have lots of friends, Facebook may replace the names you removed with other names. Repeat the process if necessary.

Allow Only Certain Names

Step 1

Click the gear icon on the Chat sidebar and select "Advanced Settings."

Step 2

Select the radio button next to "Turn On Chat For Only Some Friends."

Step 3

Click inside the entry field and enter the name of a friend you want to see on the bar. Repeat for any other names you want to add. You can also enter the name of a friends list such as "Close Friends" to add everyone on the list.