Facebook enables you to interact with all your friends and family, but you may not want any Joe Q. Public taking a peek at everything on your timeline. You can lock down your account so the general public cannot see it by changing a few privacy settings.

Step 1

Log in to your Facebook account. Click the gear icon at the top right, select “Privacy Settings” and press the "Edit" buttons to change these options from Public to your preferred audience.

Step 2

Select “Timeline and Tagging” from left sidebar. Again, use the "Edit" buttons to change the audience for these options.

Step 3

Return to your Profile page and click the “Update Info” button in your cover photo. Check every section and edit the audience from “Public” to “Friends” or “Only Me.”