Medioimages/Photodisc/Photodisc/Getty Images

The letters ATF designate trust accounts. There are three types of trust accounts: Totten trusts, living trusts and block trusts.


The letters themselves stand for “As Trustee For.”


A trust is set up for the beneficiary of the account.

Totten Trust

Funds in a Totten trust are distributed on the death of the person whose money is in the account. Beneficiaries of this type of account are spouses, children, or grandchildren of the owner of the account.

Living Trust

A living trust is created in a legal setting. The financial institution holding the money will require papers that document the trust.

Block Trust

A block trust is set up for beneficiaries of an insurance settlement or a court judgment.