How to Remove a Location from Chrome

White and yellow box on brown wooden table.jpg

Chrome uses Google Location Services to estimate your current location and prompts you to supply this information to requesting websites. Although you can't retract information Chrome already sent, you can prevent the site from receiving further locations, even if you inadvertently added an exception for the site. Because cookies can also store location information for later retrieval, you might also consider clearing the site's cookies. If you never plan to return to the site, deleting its History entry will remove all traces of your previous access.

1 Removing Location Exceptions

2 Click the Customize and Control Google Chrome menu

Click the "Customize and Control Google Chrome" menu, indicated by three horizontal lines, and select "Settings."

3 Click Show Advanced Settings

Click "Show Advanced Settings," and then select "Content Settings" in the Privacy section.

4 Click Manage Exceptions

Click "Manage Exceptions" in the Location section.

5 Move your cursor over an exception

Move your cursor over an exception, and then click "X" to remove it. Alternatively, select "Block" from the drop-down menu to block the site.

6 Click Done .''

Click "Done."

7 Deleting Individual Cookies

8 Click Customize and Control

Click "Customize and Control Google Chrome | Settings | Show Advanced Settings | Content Settings."

9 Click All Cookies and Site Data

Click "All Cookies and Site Data" from the Cookies section.

10 Move your mouse over the listed site

Move your mouse over the listed site, click "X" to remove its data, and then select "Done."

11 Deleting Individual History Entries

12 Press

Press "Ctrl-H" to view the History tab.

13 Move your mouse over the site

Move your mouse over the site you want to remove, and then check the box that appears. If you have trouble finding the site, enter the domain name or full URL in the search field, and then press "Enter."

14 Click Remove Selected Items

Click "Remove Selected Items," and then select "Remove" to delete the entry.

  • Information in this article applies to Google Chrome 29. It may vary slightly or significantly with other versions or products.
×