What Are the Five Major Classes of Presidential Duties?

The Constitution dictates presidential duties and authority.

The president of the United States is an elected official, holding office for a four-year term unless re-elected for another four years. The president is the leader of the executive branch of powers, making him responsible for an array of duties. When entering office, the president takes an oath to "preserve, protect and defend" the Constitution of the United States, as stated under Article II, Section 1 of the United States Constitution.

1 Military

Article II, Section 2 of the United States Constitution states that the president is commander-in-chief of the United States military, which includes the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps and Coast Guard. The president also has power over state-controlled militia such as the Army Reserve and National Guard in emergency circumstances.

The president is responsible for military strategy and can send troops overseas without declaring war. In order to declare war, the president must propose war to Congress and gain two-thirds of their votes.

2 Foreign Affairs

The president is responsible for upholding and improving foreign policy and relations. He exercises this duty through actions such as signing treaties, providing economic aid and military assistance to other countries, offering political asylum to foreign refugees, and participating in international forums such as the United Nations.

3 Administrative

Presidential administrative duties include appointing his cabinet members and several offices throughout government on various boards, commissions and committees. The president has a duty to give a State of the Union Address under Article II, Section 3 of the Unites States Constitution. State of the Union Addresses occur in the House Chambers and are attended by members of the House of Representatives, Senate, Presidential Cabinet and Supreme Court the justices. The president conducts a State of the Union to speak on topics such as a national crisis, budget, an economic report, foreign affairs or legislative proposals.

4 Legislative

Congress, comprised of the House of Representatives and the Senate, controls the legislative branch of government, allowing them to make laws, control finances and declare war. The president has the power to veto or ratify a bill that Congress proposes and is responsible for executing the instruction of Congress regarding expenditure, budgets, war and laws.

5 Judicial

The president has a judicial duty to nominate federal justices to the United States Supreme Court, appellate courts and district courts. Article II, Section 2 of the Constitution dictates the judicial power of the president, as head of state, to grant clemency through pardons, reprieves and amnesty.

Taylor DiVico is a professional songwriter, content writer, fiction novelist and poet with more than 15 years of experience. DiVico holds a B.A. in philosophy from the University of Rhode Island and an M.S. from Syracuse University.