In Which Branch of Government Is the President in Charge in the United States?

President Obama signing an executive order
... Alex Wong/Getty Images News/Getty Images

The President of the United States is in charge of the entire federal government as the head of the executive branch. The Founding Fathers, in the 1776 Declaration of Independence from Great Britain, stated that "all men are created equal." This guiding principle of equality directed the founders to establish a government of three co-equal branches, with checks and balances in place to prevent one branch from acquiring too much power.

1 The President's Powers

The U.S. president is the head of government and the commander-in-chief of the armed forces. The president is empowered by the Constitution to implement and enforce all congressional laws. The president appoints the heads of the various federal departments. When both houses of Congress -- the House of Representatives and the Senate -- approve the same bill, that legislation is sent to the president for his signature. With the president's signature, the bill becomes law. However, if he vetoes the bill, that veto can be overturned if two-thirds of the House and Senate vote to approve the bill. The president nominates people to the judicial branch, but these candidates must be confirmed by the Senate.

Lawrence Hartmann is a writer and editor based in Chicago. With years of experience behind him writing and editing articles about the U.S. Congress for Wolters Kluwer/CCH, Hartmann is now writing feature articles for community newspapers about life in the Second City. He has a Bachelor of Arts in English from the University of Missouri.