What Are the Five Points of the Order of the Eastern Star?

Female freemasons in English Masonic Temple, June 1937
... Topical Press Agency/Hulton Archive/Getty Images

The Order of the Eastern Star is a society open to Freemasons holding the rank of Master Mason and the female relatives of Masons. The Bible forms the basis for its teachings, and its multicolored star-shaped logo has five points which symbolically represent character-building lessons exemplified by significant female biblical figures.

1 Adah, the Blue Point

Antique Freemason Necklace
... WFariaJr/iStock/Getty Images

The blue point of the star symbolizes faithfulness, as exemplified by Adah, the name Dr. Morris, founder of the Order of the Eastern Star gave to Jephthah's daughter, according to Grand Chapter of Massachusetts. In the Book of Judges, Jephthah makes a promise to God that upon his victorious return from battle, he will sacrifice as a burnt offering the first person or creature that emerges from his house. Adah is the person who emerges and, though distressed, agrees to be sacrificed as a sign of faith and in order to keep the honor of her father intact.

2 Ruth, the Yellow Point

The everseeing eye detail
... xyno/iStock/Getty Images

The yellow point of the star symbolizes fidelity, as exemplified by Ruth. Ruth is a convert to Judiasm whose husband, brother-in-law and father-in-law die, leaving her alone with Naomi, her mother-in-law and fellow widow. When Naomi decides to return to her home in Bethlehem, Ruth decides to accompany her for the rest of her days, despite being under no obligation to do so.

3 Esther, the White Point

Ultra-Orthodox Jews read from the Book of Esther during Purim in Israel
... David Silverman/Getty Images News/Getty Images

The white point of the star symbolizes purity and joy, as exemplified by Esther. Esther is a Jewish woman selected by the ruler of a Persian empire to become his queen. She does not reveal her religion to the king. When the king's prime minister institutes a plan to exterminate all the Jews in the empire, Esther intercedes with the king, risking her life in the process. She prevents the massacre and institutes the joyous annual holiday known as Purim to the empire.

4 Martha, the Green Point

Lazarus emerging from his tomb illustration
... BibleArtLibrary/iStock/Getty Images

The green point of the star symbolizes immortality, as exemplified by Martha of Bethany in the Gospel of John. Martha is the sister of Lazarus. When she meets Jesus, she laments her brother's passing. When Jesus asks Martha if she believes that her brother will rise again, Martha answers that she does, and that she believes that Jesus is the son of God. They go to visit Lazarus' tomb, and when they remove the stone, find him alive and well.

5 Electa, the Red Point

Women freemason leaders look over 1920 petition to the Grand Masonic Temple in London, England to allow women
... Cate Gillon/Getty Images News/Getty Images

The red point of the star symbolizes charity and hospitality, as exemplified by Electa of the Second Epistle of John. No specific account is given of this woman in the Bible, but John's letter is addressed to "the elect lady and her children." The addressee is commended for her piety and charity.

Matthew Weeks has been a public policy and technology writer since 2003. He has been published on Men's News Daily and Free Republic. Weeks holds a bachelor's degree in political science from the College of New Jersey and a master's degree in public policy from Rutgers.