What Colonies Were at the Constitutional Convention?

The Constitutional Convention debated how to balance the power of large and small states.
... Comstock/Stockbyte/Getty Images

The Constitutional Convention met during the summer of 1787 with the intention of drafting a constitution to replace the ineffective Articles of Confederation. While thirteen colonies and other assorted territories had participated in the American Revolution, not all thirteen original states were represented at the Convention. Political differences impacted whether or not a state contributed delegates to the Convention.

1 All But Rhode Island

All of the thirteen original colonies, except Rhode Island, contributed delegates to the Constitutional Convention. Because of a minor political difference with the other states, involving the printing of paper money, Rhode Island decided to boycott the Convention. In addition, once the Constitution was drafted, Rhode Island originally rejected the document, and was the last to vote to ratify it.

Kevin Wandrei has written extensively on higher education. His work has been published with Kaplan, Textbooks.com, and Shmoop, Inc., among others. He is currently pursuing a Master of Public Administration at Cornell University.