General Educational Development, or G.E.D. test, is an equivalency exam for high school students who did not pass or complete high school and did not receive a high school diploma. When a student passes the G.E.D. test successfully, she gets a certificate. The G.E.D. test has five sections and each of these sections is scored, usually between 200 and 800. You can determine a grade point average (GPA) from a G.E.D. from your average test score.

Step 1

Add your individual scores from the five G.E.D. tests you have taken to determine your G.E.D. score. For instance, you scored 500, 675, 700, 550 and 400; your total G.E.D. score would total 2,825.

Step 2

Divide your G.E.D. core by five to determine your GPA. With the example above, the estimated GPA score is five divided by 2,875, or 565.

Step 3

Convert the G.E.D. to a GPA score using this chart:

G.E.D. score below 300 = GPA score: 0-1.0

300 to 400 = GPA score: 1.5-1.9

401 to 500 = GPA score: 2.0-2.9

501 to 600 = GPA score: 3.0-3.4

601 to 700 = GPA score: 3.5-3.7

701 to 800 = GPA score: 3.8-4.0