In 2013, about 43 percent of all U.S. smartphone users between the ages of 18 and 29 actively used the photo app Instagram, according to data from the Pew Internet and American Life Project. With such staggering figures, you clearly have your pick of people to interact with on Instagram; just as in real-world interaction, however, not all of them are people you'll want to keep close. When you come across people you'd rather cut ties with on Instagram, you can block them to ensure that they cannot view your photos or videos or search for your Instagram account.
Access the Instragram profile of the person whom you wish to block. To do so, tap the star-shaped icon near the bottom of the Instagram app's screen, then type in the person's name or Instagram username to search for him. If multiple options appear, tap the name or the username of the person you want to block to access his Instagram profile.
Tap the arrow icon on the person's profile if you're using an iOS device, or tap the three dots if you're using an Android or Windows phone.
Tap “Block User," then confirm your choice on the menu that appears.
- Blocking someone on Instagram does not delete his past likes and comments from your photos and videos. If you wish to remove this content, you'll have to do so manually.
- Even after you block a person on Instagram, he can still mention your username with the “@” symbol, and the mention will appear in your News Feed. Instagram recommends blocking a person and then changing your username to prevent this from happening.
- If you and the user you block share mutual Instagram followers, the blocked person will still be able to view your likes and comments.
- Pew Internet and American Life Project: Additional Analysis: Creators, Curators, Instagram and Snapchat
- Instagram: Help Center: What Happens When I Block Someone?
- Instagram: Help Center: How Do I Block or Unblock Someone?
- Instagram: Help Center: Can a Person I Blocked @mention Me?
- Instagram: Help Center: When I Block Someone, Will Their Likes and Comments Disappear From My Photos and Videos?
- Instagram: Help Center: Are My Comments and Likes Still Visible to People I Block?
- Justin Sullivan/Getty Images News/Getty Images