Since all your Google Web applications are related to a single account, it is not difficult or time consuming to shut them all down. In fact, it takes only your password and a few mouse clicks. Before you say goodbye to your Google account forever, however, there are a few things you might want to consider.

Google Associated Accounts

Your Google account controls access to applications like Google+, YouTube, Google Play, Picasa, Google Drive, Calender, Maps, Blogger, Google Wallet and Gmail. If you sign on to your Android smartphone or tablet using your Google account, you will lose your mobile device's contacts and backup data as well.

Backup Data

You may want to hold on to some data in your Google account such as your contact list, Gmail messages, calendar data, Google Drive files and Picasa photos. Each application has specific instructions on how to back it up. For example, you can back up your photos to a CD or DVD. You can download your Google Drive files, save your contact list, export your calendar and back up your email with a POP email application like Outlook, Thunderbird or Eudora.

Delete Account

To delete your Google account, visit the Google Account home page (see Resources), log in, click "Data Tools" and then "Delete account and data." Review the consequences of deleting your account, then (if you still want to delete your account) enter your password and click the "Delete Google Account" button.

Restore Your Account

Your Google account won't disappear immediately after you click the "Delete Google Account" button. For a brief period, you may be able to recover your account and its associated data. Although Google doesn't guarantee it will work, you may be able to restore your account by visiting the Password Reset page (see Resources), clicking "I don't know my password" and following Google's instructions.