The AOL app is configured by default to run in the background from the moment you install it on your iPad. If you signed in to your AOL account using the app, it will not only run in the background, but also keep you signed in to your account. If you don't need to see the latest news, videos and stories from AOL or access your email, you can shut down the AOL app. You can close the app entirely or just sign out of your AOL account.

Terminating the AOL App

Step 1

Double-tap the "Home" button to switch to the multi-tasking view which enables you to see all apps that are running on your iPad.

Step 2

Locate the AOL app and then swipe upwards on its screenshot or thumbnail to terminate the app. The app "flies" off the screen when it closes.

Step 3

Tap the "Home" button to return to normal view. If you need to use the AOL app, you must launch it manually from the apps menu.

Sign Out of the AOL App

Step 1

Launch the AOL app, if it's not already running in the background. If the app is running, double-tap the "Home" button to enter multitasking mode and then tap the AOL app to bring it to the foreground.

Step 2

Tap the "Settings" icon to open the AOL app's Settings menu. You can not only sign in and out of your AOL account from this menu, but also change the way the app functions.

Step 3

Tap "Sign Out" to sign out of your AOL account. To sign in, tap the "Settings" icon and then tap "Sign In to AOL."