Occasionally, a Belkin router will stop performing as expected, possibly dropping the Internet connection or providing unreliable service. In that case, Belkin recommends that you reset the router to its original settings. If you've forgotten the password to the router management interface, all Belkin routers come with an alternative reset option.

Hard Reset

When you've forgotten your Belkin router password, the easiest way to bring it back to its factory settings is to perform a hard reset. According to the Belkin support website, a hard reset is simple -- turn the power on and hold down the "Reset" button for 15 seconds. The location of the button may vary by router model, but is usually on the back or front panel. Keep in mind that a hard reset erases all of the settings that you have changed, both on your computer and on the router itself.