YouTube provides options on your Upload screen to set video uploads automatically to your privacy level. As an alternative, the Video Manager includes Channel Settings that enable you to update the default settings, such as changing "Public" to "Private." The Private option includes your custom list, such as "Your Circles" or "Team Members," for sharing your videos with your preferred audience.

Upload Screen

Step 1

Click the "Upload" button near the Search bar to open the Select Files to Upload screen.

Step 2

Click the "Privacy" field to open the drop-down list, and then select "Private" to bring up the Share To section.

Step 3

Click the "+Add names, circles, or email addresses" field in the Share To section to open the scrolling drop-down list. Select one or more options: "Your circles," "Extended circles," "Following," "Customers," "VIPs" or "Team members."

Default Channel Settings

Step 1

Click the "Upload" arrow button to open the drop-down list, and then select "Video Manager" to open the Uploads page and the sidebar.

Step 2

Click "Channel Settings" in the sidebar to expand the section, and then select "Defaults" to open the Upload Defaults page. This page displays this message: "Set defaults below for future uploads. These settings can be overridden on individual videos."

Step 3

Click the "Privacy" arrow button to open the drop-down list, and then select "Private."

Step 4

Click "Save" to update this default setting.