When you click a result from a Google search, the link turns from blue to purple to indicate you already visited that link. This color-changing behavior is actually a function of your browser, and has nothing to do with Google. To make all the links blue again, you must clear your browser's search history. The process varies depending on the browser you use. On some browsers, you can even clear your search history automatically whenever you close the browser.

Internet Explorer

Step 1

Click the gear icon on the toolbar in the desktop version, hover your mouse over "Safety" and then click "Delete Browsing History." In the Windows 8 app version, click "Settings" on the Charms bar, select "Options" and then click the "Select" button in the History section.

Step 2

Check the box next to History or Browsing History, then clear the other check boxes. Click "Delete" to clear your browsing history.

Step 3

Click the gear icon on the toolbar of the desktop version and select "Internet Options" if you want to configure Internet Explorer to delete your history every time you exit the application. Check the box next to "Delete Browsing History on Exit," click the "Settings" button, select the "History" tab and then change the number of days to keep history to "0". Click "OK" twice to save the changes.

Firefox

Step 1

Select "Clear Recent History" from the History menu.

Step 2

Check the box next to "Form & Search History," then clear the other check boxes.

Step 3

Change the setting in the "Time Range to Clear" drop-down menu to "Everything."

Step 4

Click "Clear Now" to delete your browsing history.

Step 5

Select "Options" from the Tools menu if you want to configure Firefox to delete your history every time you exit the program. Select the "Privacy" tab, change the setting in the History section to "Never Remember History" and then click "OK."

Chrome

Step 1

Click Chrome's menu button (an icon with three horizontal lines) and select "Settings."

Step 2

Click "Show Advanced Settings," then click the "Clear Browsing Data" button.

Step 3

Check the box next to Clear Browsing Data, then clear the other check boxes.

Step 4

Change the setting in the drop-down menu to "The Beginning of Time."

Step 5

Click "Clear Browsing Data" to delete your browsing history.