Managing your personal life is made that much easier with an iPhone and its useful apps, but it's important to maintain adequate security on the device so you don't lose your data if the phone is lost or stolen. By locking the settings of the smartphone, you can add a layer of protection that keeps your system preferences -- including those that keep your phone connected to your iCloud "Find My iPhone" tool -- and other personal data safe.

Restrictions

With Restrictions enabled, you can prevent other users from installing or removing apps and making in-app purchases. Other restrictions prevent changes to the settings for the device's location services -- the technology supporting "Find My iPhone" -- as well as your contacts, calendars, reminders, photos, Bluetooth sharing and microphone. You can also prevent changes to the settings for any or all of the following apps: Mail, Contacts, Calendars, iCloud, Twitter, Facebook, Vimeo, Flickr, iTunes, App Store, iMessage and FaceTime.

Enabling Restrictions

From the Home screen, launch Settings and then tap "General" and "Restrictions." Tap the "Enable Restrictions" button and create a four-digit passcode that will need to be entered before restricted settings can be modified. Determine which features and settings you wish to limit -- paying close attention to the "Privacy" section, where the "Location Services" feature is listed -- and toggle the sliders to "On."