Dropbox allows you to keep important work files in an accessible location for quick use no matter where you happen to be. You can also set specific Dropbox folders as “shared,” which allows other users -- by invite only -- to view and share the files these folders contain. Keeping files private is relatively simple in Dropbox, as all uploads and folders are private by default.

Step 1

Log in to your Dropbox account.

Step 2

Click the “New Folder” button to create a new folder. Name the folder “My Private Files” or a similar name that will remind you to keep the folder private.

Step 3

Upload your private files to the folder using the “Upload” button. Unless you specifically mark the folder for sharing, your files will remain secure.