Erasing photos from the iPad permanently helps you reclaim space on your device. If you have configured your iCloud account, each time you take a photo the image is saved locally to your iPad and to your iCloud account as well. You don’t even need to worry about backing up your pictures before deleting them. Delete pictures only from local storage or delete photos from both your iPad storage and iCloud account at the same time using the Photo Stream feature in the Photos app.

Delete Local Photos

Step 1

Tap the “Photos” icon on the iPad home screen to launch the Photos app.

Step 2

Tap the “Photos” option in the top toolbar. Thumbnails for photos stored locally on the iPad display on this screen.

Step 3

Tap the Share arrow icon. Additional controls, including the Delete button, display on the top toolbar.

Step 4

Tap the thumbnail for the first photo to delete. A check mark displays on the photo.

Step 5

Tap additional thumbnails to mark multiple photos for deletion.

Step 6

Tap the red “Delete” option. All selected photos are deleted from the iPad.

Delete Photo Stream Images

Step 1

Launch the Photos app.

Step 2

Tap the “Photo Stream” option in the top toolbar, and then tap “My Photo Stream.”

Step 3

Tap the “Edit” option, and then tap the thumbnail for each photo to delete. A check mark displays on each thumbnail marked for deletion.

Step 4

Tap the red “Delete” option at the bottom of the screen to delete selected photos. The Delete Photos confirmation box opens.

Step 5

Tap “Delete Selected Photos” to confirm the deletions.