Sending friend requests on Snapchat works differently than on many other social networking sites. You can add any other Snapchat user to your friends list, whether he friends you back or not. Once you add someone to your list, the other person can see that you added him by looking at his Friends Who Added You screen. You can remove your implied invitation from his screen by simply removing his name from your own friends list.

How to Edit Your Friends List

To remove the person from your friends list, go to the My Friends page in the Snapchat app and tap the person's name. A gear icon appears, which you can tap to view your options. Select "Delete" to remove the person from your friends list and remove your name from his Friends Who Added You screen. If the other person already responded to your request by adding you as a friend, then your name stays on his friends list. If you want to prevent him from sending you snaps or viewing your stories, select "Block" instead of "Delete."