Your Instagram followers’ photos do not automatically appear in your Instagram feed unless you follow the followers’ accounts. To stop unwanted communications, posts and messages from an Instagram follower, you can block the offender’s account. If another Instagrammer sends you an unwanted Instagram Direct post, you can delete the post from your direct feed. Note that you must use the Instagram mobile app to block users and delete direct posts. The Web app does not provide the necessary functionality.

Block a User

Step 1

Launch the Instagram app on your mobile device and log in.

Step 2

Tap the “Search” icon, then type the username of the follower to block. Tap the username entry to open the person's profile page.

Step 3

Tap the “Menu” icon in the user’s profile page, then tap “Block User.” The user’s account is blocked.

Delete an Instagram Direct Post

Step 1

Log in to Instagram, then tap the ”Direct” icon to open a list of your Direct inbox. Direct notifications are listed in the Direct inbox, along with direct posts you have sent and received.

Step 2

Tap the “X” to delete the unwanted direct post. The post is deleted from the Direct inbox.

Step 3

Tap the “X” in a Direct Request notification to reject direct messages from the sender. The request is deleted, and the person is not authorized to send direct messages to your account. You can also tap “Ignore All” to ignore all Direct Requests.