In addition to sharing your photos and media online, Instagram also allows you to send photos as direct messages to up to 15 people. Instagram displays whether or not your recipient has received and viewed these messages. What sets this feature apart from other similar services is the ability to delete your message, which then also removes it from the recipient's device. You can only do this with Instagram messages that you have sent, not the ones that you have received.

Step 1

Open the Instagram application on your device, and then sign in to your account.

Step 2

Tap the direct messages button, represented by a mailbox icon at the top of the screen, to view a list of the messages that you have sent or received.

Step 3

Tap the message that you want to delete, and then tap the "..." button. On Android devices the ellipsis is displayed at the top of the screen, while on iOS it is displayed next to the comment field.

Step 4

Select "Delete" from the list of options, and then tap "Delete" again to confirm that you want to remove the message.