No matter what reason you have for deactivating your account, Instagram doesn’t offer any temporary deactivation options. Once you disable your account, you will not be able to reopen it or reclaim the username under a new profile. You can’t use the Instagram app to deactivate your account; rather, you’ll have to log in to Instagram from a computer Web browser.

Saving Your Images

Account deactivation permanently removes all of your images, so it may be a good idea to use an exporting service such as Instaport or Downgram (see links in Resources) to save any pictures you want to keep. These services create a zip file containing the images you select, which is then saved on your hard drive.

The Deactivation Process

On your profile page, click your username and select the “Edit Profile” option. Scroll down and click the “I'd like to delete my account” link. Once you provide the reason you’re disabling your account, enter your password and click the “Permanently delete my account” button to confirm your decision.