Purchasing a firearm is an important life event for some people. Lifelong hunters who are able to purchase their first firearm sometimes view it as a watershed event. They are finally hunting with a weapon that they were able to purchase, not a gun given to them or loaned to them by someone else. Let's look at the requirements for purchasing a firearm in Colorado. There is no waiting period for purchasing a firearm in Colorado. People purchasing a handgun for concealed carry must meet certain requirements.

Minimum Age

In order to purchase a handgun in Colorado, the buyer must be at least 18 years old.
In order to purchase a handgun in Colorado, the buyer must be at least 18 years old.

State and federal law both require that a person be at least 21 years of age to purchase a handgun from a licensed gun dealer. This law does not make the same requirement for unlicensed sales of handguns. The minimum age to purchase either a rifle or shotgun is 18 years old. Colorado state laws align closely with federal gun laws.

A Background Check

Felons are not allowed to own or possess firearms.
Felons are not allowed to own or possess firearms.

A background check is required for all firearm purchases. The background check is done through a national database and looks for things like criminal records. It is illegal for felons to purchase or possess any firearms.

Concealed Carry

Carrying a concealed handgun requires more than just a pistol purchase.
Carrying a concealed handgun requires more than just a pistol purchase.

A handgun cannot be purchased for use as a concealed weapon unless the buyer has completed the required coursework to carry a concealed handgun. After submitting an application for a Concealed Handgun License, the person must wait to receive the license from the state before starting to carry a concealed handgun.