Tumblr lets you set up your own blog to share pictures, videos and other content. If you have an idea for a specific blog you want to create in the future, you can create a placeholder blog to save the URL until you are ready to start posting. This prevents other people from claiming the URL you want to use for your new blog. Switching to the new URL is simple.

Blog URLs

When you sign up for a new Tumblr account, you are assigned a subdomain that is the same as your username. This becomes the unique identifier for your blog. You can sign up for multiple blogs to reserve URLs until you are ready to make each blog.

Deleting a Placeholder Blog

Before you can start making new posts, you must delete the placeholder blog, then change the URL of your existing blog to the saved URL. Act quickly because there is a slim chance someone else could claim your URL before you finish changing your blog settings. Start by clicking the gear-shaped icon at the top of the screen to open a list of your blogs. Select the blog you want to delete and click the "Delete" button.

Changing Blog URL

Return to the list of blogs and select the blog to change to the saved URL. Input the URL from the blog that you just deleted. You can also change the title of your blog while in the configuration screen.