Deleting unused user accounts on your Mac can free up disk space. Whether you've created user accounts for family members or to divide up your work space, you can delete any of the accounts that you no longer use. However, you may not delete the only administrator account. If only one administrator account exists on the computer, you can either change one of the other accounts to an administrator account or create a new administrator account.

Delete Accounts

Step 1

Click the Apple menu and select "Log Out" to log out of the account you want to delete, if necessary. You can't delete a currently logged in account.

Step 2

Click the "System Preferences" icon located in the dock using an account with administrator privileges.

Step 3

Select "Users & Groups" from the System section.

Step 4

Click the lock icon and provide an administrator username and password, if prompted. Click the open lock button.

Step 5

Select the account you want to delete from the Other Users section of the sidebar.

Step 6

Click the "-" button to remove the account.

Step 7

Select to “Save the home folder in a disk image," "Don’t Change the Home Folder" or "Delete the Home Folder.” Additionally, you can select the “Erase home folder securely" check box to securely remove the folder.